top of page



For this year's cricket tournament seven divisions participated.  The tournament went well as expected. The final was between North East and Blackburn divisions, which took place on the 16th of August. The North East division hosted the match.


It was a closely contested match, unfortunately interrupted by the rain. The away team batted first and they scored 179 runs in their allocated thirty overs.  In reply, North East division's innings were frequently interrupted by rain.  They could finish fifteen overs before heavy rain stopped the play. (Fifteen over is the minimum required to conclude the match according to the BIDA Cricket rules in a rain-affected match - The runs scored by each team at 15th the over stage).


Blackburn division had scored 64 for the loss of two wickets and the North East division had made 69 for no loss. Therefore North East was declared as the winner. North East division won the trophy for the first time. Both teams played an excellent cricket.


The BIDA National president Dr. Birendra Sinha praised both teams for playing the match with great sportsmanship and expressed that this was the reason for BIDA to organize the sports tournament. 


The President presented the Trophy to the winning Captain, Prathish Thakkar; Runners-up trophy to the Blackburn division Captain, Sankesh Waghray.


Raghu Hegde.

BIDA National Sports coordinator.

BIDA National Badminton & Table Tennis Tournament 2019

This year’s BIDA Sports events are now in full swing. Both the BIDA

National Badminton Tournament and BIDA National Table Tennis
Tournament, hosted this year by BIDA’s Wolverhampton Division, took place on 19th of May.


This year’s winners are as follows:

National Badminton:
Singles Jivitesh - (Winner) Maghan - (Runner Up)
Doubles Narasimha Rao & Jivitesh-(GoldMedal)

Sports award 3.jpg
Sports Award ARM 2019 (1).jpg
Sports awards 2 (1).jpg
BIDA Table Tennis Tournament (1).JPG
Liverpool District Table Tennis League 2
BIDA Singles Badminton Tournament (1).JP



BIDA Presidents Cricket Cup Final 2018


BIDA President cup cricket tournament final took place on Sunday the 19th of August between defending champions Wigan and Blackburn divisions at Mawdesley cricket club. The match was hosted by the Wigan division. 


The match was watched by the BIDA National President Dr. Biru Sinha, Dr. Bachi Sarker and the supporters from both sides. Wigan division batted first and made 134 for 9 in their allocated 30 overs. Their captain Ravi Badge played well for his 29 runs. Blackburn bowled well to restrict Wigan to 134.


In reply, Blackburn started cautiously, made slow progress because of good bowling by the Wigan division. Then the middle-order batsmen made quick runs until Sankesh was brilliantly caught on the boundary line by the 11 year old Aditya Badge. This was followed by a run out of J Raju. Finally, Blackburn was all out for 80 runs.


The BIDA National president Biru Sinha thanked the Wigan division for hosting the final and all players for playing the game with very good spirit. He presented the trophy to the winning captain, Dr. Ravi Badge. The national Sports coordinator Raghu Hegde presented the man of the match award to the 11-year-old Aditya Badge for the brilliant catch, which changed the outcome of the match and scored 12 runs.


Wigan 134/9      Blackburn 80 all out              Wigan won by 54 runs


Man of the match - Aditya Badge


Report by

Mukesh Hemmady            

Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon


Raghu Hegde

BIDA National Sports Coordinator

BIDA Cricket cup final 2018.JPG
Trophy for the winning team captain JPG.

BIDA National Badminton & Table Tennis Tournament 2018

The North-East BIDA division hosted this year’s BIDA championship at Thornaby Pavilion at Thornaby.


The venue is in the outskirts of Stockton town. This year we combined the event of table tennis and badminton championships.


We had a good attendance of around 60 players with family members, who all participated in the event.

We had representation from our executive committee: Dr Sarup Tayal (Chair), Dr Ram Singh,
Dr Prathish Thakkar and my self (Viswanath YKS).

This year winners are as follows:

National Table Tennis (Singles)
Gold medal: Mr Sarang Sapre (Merseyside)
Runner up: Dr Prathish Thakkar (North East)

National Table Tennis (Doubles)
Gold Medal: Dr Chakrapani Kalluri and Dr Vikram Narula (North East)
Runner up: Dr Sunil Sapre and Sarang Sapre

National Badminton (Singles)
Gold medal: Dr Chakrapani Kalluri (North East)
Runner up: Dr Jaganath Chakravarthy

National Badminton (Doubles)
Gold Medal: Dr Jaganath Chakravarthy and Dr Chakrapani Kalluri (North East)
Runners up:Dr Amit  Chauhan and Dr Prathish Thakkar

Congratulations to the winners and thank you to all the players who participated in the
games and also to the family members. We look forward to be in national BIDA AGM to receive trophies.

Mr Viswanath YKS
North East BIDA

Players in action.JPG
Winning Players.jpg
BIDA Badminton Event.JPG
Organisers, Players & Family .jpg
bottom of page